PhotoshopForums.com Home
Navigate Contact FAQ Search Members
Question about a photo.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PhotoshopForums.com Forum Index -> General Photoshop and Design Discussion
 See a User Guidelines violation? Please contact us.

ScArY_

PS Version: CS4

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 4:52 am    Post subject: Question about a photo. Reply with quote

Hello guys, im new to the forums, happy new year by the way.

Alright, im not a pro photoshopper so please be lenient :).

I saw this photo on youtube :

and what i wanna do is what the guy did with his Sunglasses. It looks fake and simultaneously awesome. A friend of mine told me this : He colored them black and then used Burn & Dodge Tool. I tried to do that but unfortunately i failed so i really dunno what to do next. I don't know whether the instructions of my friend were correct so i should try again or something.

Onto the 2nd question, it's relevant to sunglasses but irrelevant to the topic. If you take a photo of yourself using a camera, wearing sunglasses (for e.g. Ray Ban aviator sunglasses which some models reflect), you will see your self reflected on the glasses. How do i make it disappear ? I don't want to add a 2nd layer or something like that. Sorry if i confused you in any way. I'll try to explain it if anyone gets confused.

darklite

PS Version: cs

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The burn and dodge tool can work for this effect largely because you can work with the pre-existing colors. You just have to set the exposure to a very light setting and go easy and gradually. Also, use a larger brush. A small brush will give you harder lines. A layer would be my first choice, but if you're trying to avoid using a layer, I would just recommend using the airbrush at a low setting, then go lightly and gradually build up the highlights.