PhotoshopForums.com Home
Navigate Contact FAQ Search Members
Workflow and tools in creating a specific image.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PhotoshopForums.com Forum Index -> Tools and Panels
 See a User Guidelines violation? Please contact us.

DrJBN

PS Version: CS2

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 3:39 am    Post subject: Workflow and tools in creating a specific image. Reply with quote

Hello,

This is my first post, and I am a new photoshop user (CS2 as it is now freely available from adobe), so please be patient with my "noobness. "

I am reasonably computer savvy (program in several languages) and have done graphics work sparsely in the context of developing a video game, but I am not very experienced with photoshop per se (my work has been a combination of gimp, trial photoshops, etc.) Most of what I accomplish has been through combining textures generated by my game engine with high level shader language.

I have a project now that I need to do in the next two weeks which is "simply" to create a booklet cover- it may be beyond my capability, but it looks relatively simple and I am seeking general advice, and specific direction on a couple of issues.

I need to make a graphic after the style of the attached .jpg.

It looks to me relatively simple- but not being that familiar with making things like this I really do not know. I have perhaps bitten off more than I can chew in the next two weeks given that I will be learning as I go.

The way I would proceed would be to create several layers for each element (e.g., bushs, beach, ocean, mountains, buildings) and then go about drawing items. (I am using a Wacom Bamboo pen & touch- which I am also learning on the fly)

My more specific questions have to do with
1) gradients
2) spackling (for lack of knowing the correct term)
3) texture