PhotoshopForums.com Home
Navigate Contact FAQ Search Members
My first website / PSD - feedback please :)
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PhotoshopForums.com Forum Index -> Design and Graphic Reviews
 See a User Guidelines violation? Please contact us.

mc100

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 12:51 am    Post subject: My first website / PSD - feedback please :) Reply with quote

Hi

I am new to Photo Shop and have always wanted to learn. So 10 hours after installing the free trial version, I have made a website homepage. Obviously I won't be using it because I just wanted to have some fun and see how Photo Shop works.

Here is a link to my PSD as it kept saying I was uploading an empty file - if someone else can upload it here, feel free:

http://rapidshare.com/files/456713165/generationhosting.psd

I would like to know the following, as well as any other comments you may have:

1) Have I used the appropriate width if this was to be coded?
2) Have I set out layers correctly for coding? I see you can make groups...should I use them or does it now really matter?

So not really about the design itself, but have I constructed it ok?

General feedback is great - I've learnt a lot already and I hope I can learn lots more - thanks for taking a look!!

thehermit

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello and welcome to the forum mc100.

You may get more responses if you uploaded a JPEG to this site, keeping it under 200k (from memory).

As for your site, I am not a fan of the jigsaw background nor am I a fan of the multitude of font faces, try and stick to a couple and don't make them so disparate, try to stick to serif or sans, or judicious use of both with care. The only thing I would add is that everything looks on the large size, as if giant hands created them. Whilst I am on a roll nor do I like the pink colour for the boxes, the drop shadow under the speech bubble or the texture on the buttons in the 'why go with us' section.