PhotoshopForums.com Home
Navigate Contact FAQ Search Members
How to best deal with photo blur - Sharpening?
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PhotoshopForums.com Forum Index -> Photography
 See a User Guidelines violation? Please contact us.

supersi

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 6:09 pm    Post subject: How to best deal with photo blur - Sharpening? Reply with quote

I'm using Photoshop CS5.5 (64 bit).

A photographer took indoor pictures under fluorescent light of my wife and I.
There was a Christmas tree behind us. He used a slower exporsure to try and bring out the treel lights but it's resulted in a lot of images like this one...

This is a cropped, zoomed-in image. As you can see there's a lot of blur between my Wife's face and the background. What can I do to correct this and how?
I'm a real novice photoshop user.

jerryb4417

PS Version: photoshop cs5

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,
this looks like motion blur, that my first thoughts... and it severe...

but first let me say you will need to do some sharpening and maybe alittle correction...

be that said.... it lookslike motion blur .. now photoshop does have a setting for this under smart sharpening...

Now I tried that and it didn't help, it not good enough,.... now what you might check out.... since you have quite a few pictures.... focus magic... beside does good sharpening it can do a wonderfull job and better with motion blur than ps does.. if you go that route then suggest try before you buy.....

otherwise.... , and idon't know what the rest ofthe image looks but. masking face off or just selecting the black areas I would do cloning from one dark to the "orange shadow" that work well for me...

i got a feeling your going to do a lot of selection/masking/cloning and maybe couple of other things to get these pictures nice and clean and sharp ....
butlike i said motionblur is very difficult..

renata